Best Dual Fuel Generator for Home Backup: 12 kW Dual-Fuel Output for Outage Backup
Predicament Measures is reader-supported: some links on this page are affiliate links, and as an Amazon Associate Predicament Measures earns from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Learn more.
Our Top 3 Home Backup Generators
The best dual fuel generator for home backup is the Pulsar G12KBN-SG because its 8 gallons supports long outage runs for homeowners who need more runtime than a small portable.
The picks are right below, in order. Everything after them is the reasoning, if you want it.
#1 – Pulsar G12KBN-SG
Best for: you want the most running watts in this group and an electric start for home backup planning.
$899.99
Why the Pulsar G12KBN-SG is our #1 pick
- $899.99 (mid-range among those compared)
- 4.5 rating from 279 ratings
Running watts: 9500 Watts · Starting watts: 12 Kilowatts
For comparison on running watts, one model we screened but did not pick: Green-Power America GN5250DW Generator at 4,250 Running Watts.
#2 – Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel
Best for: you want the lowest entry price and can work with a smaller backup load.
$399.99
Why the Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel is our #2 pick
- $399.99 (entry among those compared)
- 4.6 rating from 87 ratings
Running watts: 3600 Watts · Starting watts: 4500 Watts
Models we screened and left out, for reference on running watts: Pulsar G65BN-SN Generator at 5500 Running Watts.
#3 – Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator
Best for: you want a 240-volt dual-fuel unit with a 7-gallon tank and a midrange backup load profile.
$949
Why the Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator is our #3 pick
- $949 (mid-range among those compared)
Running watts: 7200 Watts · Starting watts: 9000 Watts
To put that running watts in context: GENMAX GM4600iAEDC at 3800 Watts, also screened and not picked.
How Predicament Measures picked: we started from the most-reviewed home backup generator listings in our retail dataset, removed duplicates, accessories and off-category products, and 17 qualified. The picks on this page were selected from those 17 candidates against this topic’s requirements. Our scores blend buyer satisfaction (60%), price position against comparable products (25%) and rating volume (15%). Specifications come from manufacturer listings and ratings from verified Amazon buyer reviews (data checked October 2026).
What We Recommend and Why
If your older unit struggled with furnace blower starts, a dual fuel home generator with higher starting output is the kind of upgrade that changes the outage plan.
Pulsar G12KBN-SG fits that situation with 12 kilowatts of starting watts, 9500 running watts, and electric start. Choose the Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel if you only need a smaller residential backup generator, and choose the Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator if you want a 240-volt model with a 7-gallon tank. We screened 17 Home Backup Generators at Predicament Measures and compared 7 in this page’s table for outage-ready dual-fuel use. The shortlist runs from $399.99 to $949, and the median price of the 7 products in our comparison is $899.99.
The secondary trade-off here is starting method. Genkins uses recoil start and lists 120 volts, while the Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator also uses recoil start but adds 240 volts and 9000 starting watts, so the right pick depends on whether you care more about outlet format or a simpler starter.
Home Backup Generators: The Short Version
- Top pick: Pulsar G12KBN-SG at $899.99 (Running watts: 9500 Watts).
- Also picked: Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel at $399.99; Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator at $949.
- We compared 7 Home Backup Generators, from $399.99 to $1099.99, median $899.99.
- Best buyer rating in the comparison: Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel at 4.6/5 from 87 ratings.
- Not covered by these picks: Keep a larger house load moving without constant load juggling – needs 10,000 watts running, and none of the picks reaches it.
Full Comparison Table of Emergency Generators
| Product | Price | Rating | Fuel type | Voltage | Fuel tank capacity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pulsar G12KBN-SG | $899.99 | 4.5 (279 ratings) | dual fuel | 120V/240V | 8 Gallons |
| Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel | $399.99 | 4.6 (87 ratings) | gasoline | 120 Volts | 4 Gallons |
| Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator | $949 | 0.0 (0 ratings) | dual fuel | 240 Volts | 7 Gallons |
| Pulsar G65BN-SN Generator | $699.99 | 4.8 (6 ratings) | dual fuel | 120v and 240v | Not stated |
| GENMAX GM4600iAEDC | $999.99 | 4.0 (277 ratings) | dual fuel | 120 Volts | 1.6 Gallons |
| Green-Power America GN12000DEW Generator | $1099.99 | 0.0 (0 ratings) | dual fuel | 120-volt/240-volt | Not stated |
| Green-Power America GN5250DW Generator | $451.15 | 0.0 (0 ratings) | dual fuel | 120-Volt | 4-Gallon |
Prices are approximate and move frequently – check the current price before deciding. “Not stated” means the manufacturer listing does not give that figure – we do not estimate it.
Among our top picks, Pulsar G12KBN-SG is the value leader because its $0.09 per unit of running watts helps stretch home-backup capacity per dollar.
The Full Review of Each Home Backup Generator We Picked
The 3 picks below run from $399.99 to $949, reviewed in rank order.
Pulsar G12KBN-SG
Pulsar G12KBN-SG made this list because its 9,500 running watts, 12 kilowatts of starting power, and 8-gallon tank give it the strongest backup profile here. It also states dual fuel, electric start, and transfer switch readiness, which matters if you want a home backup generator that can connect through a transfer switch or interlock kit.
What we like: The 120V/240V output matches North American split-phase panels, and the seven outlets give you more connection options than the smaller picks. Its 8-gallon tank is the largest here, so it gives the longest runtime cushion among these three for home essentials. A GFCI outlet, which helps protect plug-in use, is not stated in the specs, so you should not assume it is included.
Keep in mind: The 9,500-watt running figure still leaves you planning around load management, not whole-house coverage. If your backup plan depends on central HVAC and several large loads at once, you need more output than this class usually provides.
Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel
Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel made our list as the budget option for a dual fuel generator, with a $399.99 price and 3,600 running watts. It suits a smaller home backup setup where fuel flexibility matters more than capacity, and the recoil start keeps the spec sheet simple.
What we like: The 4-gallon tank gives it a useful runtime base for short outages, and the 120-volt output fits lighter household circuits. Its dual-fuel naming is in the model, but the specs here state gasoline as the fuel type, so the listing data is mixed and worth reading carefully. It is the least expensive pick here by a wide margin.
Keep in mind: The 3,600-watt running figure rules it out for heavier home backup jobs. If you want furnace blower, fridge, and lights through a long outage, this is the one that asks you to budget for load discipline or a smaller backup plan.
Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator
Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator sits in the middle because its 7,200 running watts and 9,000 starting watts give it more headroom than the Genkins without jumping to the larger Pulsar’s size and tank. It also states dual fuel and 240 volts, which is useful if your backup setup needs the split-phase format used by many home panels.
What we like: The 240-volt output is the clearest fit for home backup wiring among these three, and the L14-30R outlet is the standard twist-lock format many portable generator hookups use. Its 7-gallon tank supports longer outage coverage than the smaller unit, and the CO sensor adds a safety feature that the other two do not state. The wheel kit also helps with moving a heavier portable around storage space.
Keep in mind: The recoil start means you do not get electric starting here. If you want the longest runtime or the highest running wattage in this group, this model is not the answer.
For a heavy-duty power solution, view our full G0073240 18kW review.
What to Look For in a Backup Generator
Starting Wattage For Motor Loads
Look for enough starting wattage to cover motor loads that kick on together, because the surge number is what keeps a refrigerator compressor or furnace blower from tripping the generator. The Pulsar G12KBN-SG states 12 kilowatts starting output, and the Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator lists 9,000 watts. Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel lists 4,500 watts, which is the tighter fit for lighter home backup loads. The starting-wattage split is the first place this field separates, because motor starts can demand more than steady running power.
Running Wattage For Essential Circuits
Weigh running wattage against the circuits you want live at the same time, because the continuous figure decides how much load stays on after startup. Pulsar G12KBN-SG lists 9,500 watts running, while the Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator lists 7,200 watts and the Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel lists 3,600 watts. A refrigerator, furnace blower, and a few lights fit very differently across those numbers, so the lower-wattage unit suits a smaller essentials list. Honda EU7000is is the inverter benchmark buyers compare against for noise, power quality, and reliability, and the Pulsar models here state split-phase home output rather than inverter output.
Fuel-Switching Setup And Runtime at 50% Load
Choose dual fuel if you want propane and gasoline flexibility, then use runtime at 50% load to estimate refueling frequency. The Pulsar G12KBN-SG states dual fuel and an 8-gallon tank, with up to 12 hours at half load on gasoline; the Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator also states dual fuel and a 7-gallon tank, with up to 9.5 hours at half load. Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel lists gasoline or propane, but its fuel type line states gasoline, so the listing is less clear on switching setup. For a weekend-style backup load, the larger Pulsar model gives more tank capacity, while the Genkins unit gives the shortest stated runtime.
120/240V Output For Home Hookup
Look for 120/240V output when you want a home hookup that can feed split-phase equipment through a transfer switch or interlock kit, which is the required interface for safe backfeed prevention. Pulsar G12KBN-SG states 120V/240V, and the Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator lists 240 Volts with a 120/240V twist-lock outlet. Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel states 120 Volts only, so it suits lighter connection needs rather than a full split-phase hookup. The reference point here is the 120/240V split-phase standard, and these listings show which models state that format directly.
Wheel Kit And Portability for Moving the Generator
Pick a wheel kit if you plan to move the generator around storage space or a driveway, because portability matters more as weight rises. Pulsar G12KBN-SG states a wheel kit, and the Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator also includes one. Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel does not state a wheel kit, so its portability support is not specified in the listing. A parallel kit, which expands usable output, is not stated for any of these picks, so this section stays with transport hardware instead of accessory pairing.
What Each Job Calls For vs What These Picks State
Match the job you actually need done to the figure it calls for, then check which picks state that figure or more. Where none do, the row says so.
| What you want to do | The figure it calls for | Picks at or above it |
|---|---|---|
| Keep a larger house load moving without constant load juggling | 10,000 watts running | none of these picks clear it; a larger portable generator would |
| Back up a home panel with split-phase output and a transfer switch-ready hookup | 120/240V split-phase with a transfer switch or interlock kit | G12KBN-SG clears it; 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator states 240 Volts but not transfer-switch readiness; GKJ4500D Dual Fuel states 120 Volts only |
| Run a fridge, furnace blower, and a few lights through an outage | 7,500 watts running | Pulsar G12KBN-SG |
These figures are the levels this category is generally held to, not manufacturer claims. A pick at or above a figure states that number; how it reaches it and the rest of your setup still decide the job, so check them against your own workload before buying.
Who Buys Home Backup Generators, and What It Really Costs
Who buys a home backup generator, and what each one needs
- Homeowners with well pumps — need 7,500 watts running / 9,500 watts starting to cover a pump, fridge, and furnace blower
- Rural households with electric heat — need 10,000 watts running for multiple large household loads at once
- Families wanting automatic backup — need a 14 kW whole-house standby setup with a transfer switch or interlock kit
- Larger homes with central HVAC — need 18 kW whole-house standby for more of the panel without load juggling
- Multi-appliance households in outage-prone areas — need 120/240V split-phase power for North American panels and transfer equipment
What an emergency generator really costs, and where to buy one
What to budget for on top of the emergency generator
- Transfer switch or interlock kit — needed to connect generator power safely to the home panel
- Heavy-duty outdoor extension cords — needed to reach appliances and keep the generator outside
- Fuel storage cans — needed to keep extra gasoline or propane on hand for longer outages
- Oil and spare filters — needed for routine maintenance and service intervals
- Generator inlet box — needed when the house uses a hardwired hookup instead of direct cords
What you can leave out of the budget
- RV adapter cords — unnecessary when the generator is for home panel backup rather than an RV hookup
- Parallel kit — unnecessary if the household is not combining two compatible units
- Extra surge protector strips — unnecessary because the generator output already feeds the home through proper transfer equipment
- Portable power station — unnecessary when the buyer needs whole-home or large-appliance backup
Where this kind of product is normally sold
- Home improvement chains — useful for panel hardware, return windows, and bundled electrical accessories
- Generator dealers — useful for setup guidance, warranty handling, and installation coordination
- Farm and outdoor retailers — useful for fuel-flexible units and practical pickup buying
- Online marketplaces — useful for price comparison, but warranty and return handling can vary by seller
- Electrical supply houses — useful for transfer equipment, inlet boxes, and compatibility advice
What It Takes to Run One, and What to Verify
What you need before these backup generators will run
These home backup generators need fuel and a way to start. The Pulsar G12KBN-SG also needs a charged battery for its electric start.
- Pulsar G12KBN-SG: dual fuel, 120V/240V output, and an electric start. The battery supplies starting power for that start system.
- Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel: gasoline or propane, 120 Volts, and recoil start. It does not state an electric-start battery.
- Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator: dual fuel, 240 Volts, and recoil start. It does not state a battery requirement.
- If you plan to feed house circuits, you need a transfer switch kit or interlock kit, not extension cords. Extension cord gauge determines voltage drop and safety, but it does not replace a transfer connection for home backup use.
What to check when your emergency generator arrives
Cover differs by seller and country.
- Check that the outlet set matches your transfer equipment. The Pulsar G12KBN-SG states a 120V/240V 30A twist-lock outlet and a 120V/240V 50A outlet.
- Confirm the starting method before the return window closes. The Pulsar G12KBN-SG states electric start, while the Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel and Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator state recoil start.
- Inspect the fuel setup for the model you chose. The Pulsar G12KBN-SG and Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator state dual fuel, while the Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel states gasoline or propane.
- Look over the frame, wheels, and shipping damage first. The Pulsar G12KBN-SG and Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator both state a wheel kit, so bent hardware matters before you move them.
On the first day, verify the outlets, start method, and fuel type before you keep the box.
Home Backup Generators: The Questions This Choice Raises
How long will a dual fuel home generator run on propane versus gasoline at 25% or 50% load?
Pulsar G12KBN-SG gives the longest emergency runtime here, because its 8-gallon tank is paired with up to 12 hours at half load on gasoline. The Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator is listed at up to 9.5 hours at half load, and Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel is listed at 9 hours at half load. At 25% load, the data does not state a runtime for any of these three models.
What is the total cost after buying a home backup generator, transfer switch or inlet setup, cords, and fuel?
The total cost for a home backup generator setup depends on the generator price, the transfer switch or inlet setup, cords, and fuel, and only the generator prices are stated here. Pulsar G12KBN-SG is around $899.99, Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator is around $949, and Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel is around $399.99. The transfer switch or inlet setup, cord costs, and first fuel fill are not stated.
What maintenance and fuel-storage issues matter most if I only use it during emergencies?
Maintenance and fuel-storage issues for an emergency generator start with fuel type, tank size, and starting system. Pulsar G12KBN-SG states dual fuel, an electric start, and an 8-gallon tank; Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator states dual fuel and a 7-gallon tank; Genkins GKJ4500D Dual Fuel states gasoline, recoil start, and a 4-gallon tank. If you want fewer fuel-related surprises during outages, the dual-fuel models give you propane and gasoline options, while Genkins ties you to gasoline only.
Do low-oil shutdown and carbon monoxide shutoff matter on a residential backup generator?
Yes, low-oil shutdown and carbon monoxide shutoff matter on a residential backup generator because they address two different risks. Pulsar 9000-Watt Dual-Fuel Generator states carbon monoxide detection and a low oil indicator, while the other two picks do not state either feature. The low-oil shutdown question is answered only for the Pulsar 9000-Watt model by its low oil indicator, which warns about oil level before the engine is stressed.
Who Should Skip These Emergency Generators
If your outage plan includes a furnace blower, fridge, and lights for a weekend, these three picks still leave a gap at 10,000 watts running. That is the point where a larger portable starts handling multiple large household loads at once, and none of these options is built for that scale.
The rest of our backup generator guides
- Best Home Generator for a Small House
- The Home Backup Generators That Work Best for Small House Whole House Power
- Which Home Generator Is Best for Power Outages?
- Standby Generators for Home Compared
- Choosing the Best Home Backup Generator for Sensitive Electronics
- The Home Generators That Work Best for Beginners

